Marriage Licenses

Tennessee residents and out-of-state residents may apply for a marriage license at the Stewart County Clerk’s Office. Both applicants must be present in order to apply for a marriage license unless incarcerated or disabled. Incarcerated or disabled applicants must submit a notarized affidavit provided by the clerk’s office. Applicants must provide identification in the form of a valid state driver’s license, valid state identification card, or certified birth certificate and a social security card. If you are not a citizen of the United States, you will need a passport or other documentation that proves you are legally in the United States. Applicants will also be required to fill out a written application for the marriage license.

Applicants who are under 18 years of age must have both parents, the guardian, or next of kin appear and sign their application. Marriage licenses are not permitted to be issued to anyone under age 17. 

The fee for applying for a marriage license in Stewart County is $97.50 unless participants have taken a Premarital Counseling Course. If the four hours of counseling have been completed, the counselor must fill out the Premarital Counseling form, and then the marriage license fee is $37.50.

Who Can Solemnize a Marriage?

The rite of matrimony may be solemnized by any of the persons listed in T.C.A. § 36-3-301:

  1. All regular ministers, preachers, pastors, priests, rabbis and other religious leaders of every religious belief, more than eighteen (18) years of age, having the care of souls.
  2. Current and former members of county legislative bodies.
  3. County mayors/executives and former county mayors/executives.
  4. Current and former judges and chancellors of this state, including federal judges and federal administrative law judges.
  5. Current and former judges of general sessions courts.
  6. Current and former municipal court judges.
  7. The governor.
  8. The county clerk of each county, and former county clerks who occupied the office on or after July 1, 2014.
  9. Current and former speakers of the senate and speakers of the house of representatives.
  10. Mayors of municipalities.
  11. Current and former members of the general assembly who have filed notice with the office of vital records. Former members must have filed notice with the office of vital records while serving the general assembly.
  12. Law enforcement chaplains duly appointed by the heads of authorized state and local law enforcement agencies.
  13. Members of municipal legislative bodies.
  14. Notaries Public.